Adventures in Creating a Cherpumple Pie Cake — Ridiculous Photojournalism

Erikka Innes
8 min readApr 8, 2023

Here’s an old post from my blog, that I’m dismantling and moving pieces from over to here.

The Cherpumple Pie Cake is the creation of humorist and ambassador of Americana, Charles Phoenix. It’s a crazy holiday dessert inspired by the Turducken. For the sake of brevity, I’ll paste his definition in here, but without the typo:

“The Cherpumple is the dessert version of the Turducken. It’s a three-layer cake with a pie stuffed in each layer. YUM! Cherpumple is short for CHERry, PUMpkin and apPLE pie. The apple pie is baked in spice cake, the pumpkin in yellow and the cherry in white. I DARE YOU TO TRY IT AT HOME!…& SEND PIX! Share your Cherpumple “Monster” Pie Cake creation!”

While amusing, I was not going to try making one because I am not a baker. However at the bottom of the recipe, Charles says you can set your final product on fire. WHOA… fire? Anytime there is an opportunity to set food on fire where it actually counts as on purpose, I’m interested. It saves me having to come up with excuses for doing it anyway.

I decided on a Cherpeaple pie. Cherry, peach, and apple. I know Charles added pumpkin, but I don’t like pumpkin, and this is more fun to say. If somebody says ‘what’s in it?’ you can raise your eyebrows knowingly and then ask where one of the guests disappeared to. See, tons of fun.

I put chocolate cake mix around the cherry pie, yellow cake mix around the peach pie, and just…

--

--

Erikka Innes

Developer Advocate, Writer, Comedian, and Commander of the Nerd Legion